Home / Community / Asian Achievers honoured at AAA 2012

Asian Achievers honoured at AAA 2012

The great and the good of the Asian community in the UK gathered at the plush Grosvenor House Hotel in London’s Park Lane September 14, to honour the finest British Asians in the land.

The annual Asian Achievers Awards 2012 – the 12th edition of the prestigious ceremony organized by the ABPL Group of Companies – to celebrate the achievements of British Asians across all spheres of life in the UK and during what has been a remarkable year for Britain as a whole.  

Awards were handed out in a dozen categories of achievement, following an exhaustive selection process by an independent panel of judges which included cricket legends Sir Ian Botham and Sunil Gavaskar, former Daily Mirror editor Richard Wallace, Lord Poppat and Baroness Prashar.  

Notable winners on the night included Nileeka Gunawardena, founder of Bollywood Dance London who won the Gold Award for Achievement in Media, Arts and Culture; beauty pioneer Shahnaz Hussain who was named ‘Woman of the Year 2012’;  Director and Controller of the Royal Navy, Rear-Admiral Amjad Mazhar Hussain CB, winner of the Gold Award for Achievement in Uniformed and Civil Services and Subaskaran Allirajah, Chairman of Lyca Mobile who won ‘Business Person of the Year’, in recognition of the prolific success of his telecoms-to-travel Group.  

Controversial cricketer Kevin Pietersen set aside the disappointment of not being selected for the World T20 tournament to collect the Platinum Award for International Sports Personality of the Year Award from fellow cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar.

And Bollywood legend Hema Malini – stunning as ever despite her years and attending the event as the global representative of the Sarvam Charitable Trust – was presented with the International Personality of the Year award by ABPL Group chairman Mr CB Patel.  
Mr Patel, who built up the ABPL empire from humble beginnings some 40 years ago, ensured that the charitable cause close to his heart was the prime beneficiary on the night.  

A remarkably effervescent Lord Archer conducted the charity auction which raised a staggering £121,000 for Sarvam; the money raised just a further addition to the more than £5m raised by AAA and ABPL over the last decade.  

Guests picked up a range of prizes, including a bat used by Sachin Tendulkar which attracted a bid of £6000 and the bat used by Kevin Pietersen in making his last Test match century against South Africa, which was snapped up for £5000.

Lord Archer and Hemal Malini were joined on the glittering guest list by a plethora of high-profile names from politics, business, entertainment and sport, including the billionaire Hinduja brothers; MP’s Seema Malhotra and Sadiq Khan, singer and songwriter Navin Kundra and actor and producer Ray Panthaki.

The list of award winners in full:

AAA Gold Award for Achievement in Media, Arts and Culture:
Founder of Bollywood Dance London, Nileeka Gunawardene
AAA Gold Award for Uniformed and Civil Service:
Director and Controller of the Royal Navy Rear-Admiral Amjad Mazhar Hussain CB
AAA Gold Award for Woman of the Year:
Pioneer and leader of herbal care clinics Shahnaz Husain
AAA Platinum Award for Sports Personality of the Year:
Professional Boxer and Ambassador for The Prince’s Trust Akaash Bhatia
AAA Gold Award for Professional of the Year:
Pioneer of the laser eye surgery technique LASEK Prof Sunil Shah
AAA Gold Award for Achievement in Community Service:
Lecturer, speaker and teacher of Religious Studies Kishan Devani
AAA Platinum Award for Business Person of the Year:
Group Founder and Chairman of the Lycatel and Lycamobile Group of companies
Subaskaran Allirajah
AAA Gold Award for Young Entrepreneur:
Managing Director of Icone Group of Companies Shamir Shah
AAA Platinum Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Founder of Noon Products Lord Ghulam Noon
AAA Platinum Award for International Sporting Personality of the Year:
Kevin Pietersen, who was presented with the award by fellow cricketer and AAA judging panel member, Sunil Gavaskar.
AAA International Personality of the Year:Bollywood veteran and philanthropist, Hema Malini, who was presented with the award by ABPL Group Chairman, CB Patel.
Editor’s Award:
HH Sir Judge Mota Singh QC
Asian Voice Special Award for Vision & Enterprise:
Mr Samrat Bhandari

Visit The UKAsian’s photo gallery page for the full album from the awards.

– UKAsian Staff



Check Also

Visitors from India, including members of same family, believed killed in horror M1 crash

Eight members of the same family, visiting the UK from Kerala, are believed to have …